top of page

Pudong to Pennsylvania: My Trip to Summer at Sem

I have never gone abroad before and I have never traveled by plane. It's a long way from China to America, so I have to arrive in the United States by plane.

A photo of my flight from Pudong Airport to JFK in New York.

I'm so afraid of heights that I can't even climb a mountain. Also, I’m afraid of plane because I think it would fall down and hit the ground. But I have no other choice.

Let me tell you about my trip to America.

First, I arrived at Pudong Airport and waited for the plane. When I was on board, I felt very nervous and my body was shaking (Remember, this was my first time traveling by plane and I was alone). Suddenly, the plane began to speed up and went along the runway with tremendous speed. At that moment, the plane took off and started gaining height. During this time, my heart was pumping very fast and I looked out of the window nervously. After about an hour, I didn't feel afraid anymore, so I just enjoyed the beautiful views of the sky and watched movies on the computer which was behind the seat in front of me.

However, when the plane began to descend, I felt nervous again because the plane was shaking. At last it touched the ground and stopped. I got off the plane and went straight to the entrance of John F. Kennedy Airport to find Megan, who would pick me up there. After doing some searching, I finally found her and got on a bus that would take me to Wyoming Seminary. On the way to campus, I enjoyed the views of America and went to sleep. It was a long flight and traveling makes me very tired.

Finally we landed at John F. Kennedy International Airport in New York

Finally, I arrived on campus and met many people who would become my new friends. That's how I got here to Summer at Sem and the English Language Institute.

Recent Posts
Featured Posts
bottom of page